Busy Weekends

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It’s been a busy week of parties and pictures of all types. Okay, so there were only two parties, and one was to celebrate my new nephew David. It was fun and I was able to take a lot of pictures. Some are good, most aren’t. Really what it comes down to is the lack of light. I’ve been limited to my 35mm f/1.8 all week. Don’t get me wrong, it’s an awesome lens. But when the lights are low and you’re forced to shoot it wide open, you need to make sure your focusing on the right thing. To make up for my inability to apparently focus on the right people when it’s so dark, I take lots of pictures. Lots. When I say lots, for the first times, I’ve surpassed the capacity of my 4gig SD Card during a shoot. I talked to a wedding photographer about how many shots he takes. I was surprised to learn that he has the same problems and regularly shoots 15 hundred (read: hundred!) pictures for a single wedding, and expects his second to do the same. That’s a lot of photo’s to go through.

After the last few weeks I’ve decided that my “wishlist” needs badly to be updated. I think a wireless flash is order for all the low light situations I’ve been in lately. Not to mention maybe a better (faster) zoom lens like the 70-200mm f/2.8 Nikkor lens. I suppose a nice full frame DSLR would be nice as well, for it’s low light ability (and of course a million other reasons). It leads me to wonder what I really need to become a professional. Low light makes it difficult to take great pictures, but it’s not impossible. I know I just need to become an incredible photographer to compensate for my lack of quality equipment.  Another idea would be to find someone to invest the money into my business. Good luck with that I suppose!

 

Leave a Reply

