Picking, Choosing, Etching in Stone, then changing your mind.

I haven’t been an artist all of my life. Just creative most of the time. I’m not even an artist now. I’m not completely sure what I’m supposed to be doing right now. Probably not writing in a blog, even if it is about me trying to be an artist.

Hurdle # 436. “The Medium”

I’ve tried a bunch of different mediums from Oils, Acrylics, Graphite, wire bending, Ink, Photography, Digital arts, Cartooning, Movies, and Music, but none seem to jump out and say “This IS ME!”. So how does an artist looking for a medium go about picking one. What can I do that could be enjoyed by others, and cherished by me. I feel like everything I’ve tried so far is fun and cool, and I’ll continue to do all of them as much as I can. But what will I be remembered for. My Grandfather, whom I never met, was a Oil painter. Though only a few of his works remain with the family now, I can only imagine how he would feel about being remembered for his eccentricity and his Oil Paintings. How did he choose? Did he prefer something else that I don’t know about? I guess I’ll never know, but it’s interesting for me to think about.

I love painting. There seems to be an ongoing battle between me and the paints, trying to get what I want them to do onto the canvas. But I’m constantly thinking about it and wanting to get back to them. Of course, my insecurities tell me that there are simply millions of painters, including many that are exceptional at what they do. So what do I do to make something special that people will want to see, and more importantly pay for. I’m still looking for that medium, and I’m still looking for the title of artist. I want it so badly I can taste it.

I love my Paint teacher, simply for her love of art and her commitment to being positive and going out of her way to tell me that she loves my work and wants me to do more. Thank you Laura! I just wish I could say simply that I’m a painter, or photographer, or artist.

Leave a Reply

