Getting Ready for Fall

Fall school starts soon, but the farmwork never ends. The last few days have seen me driving into the springs to collect free wood from a whole lot of wooden crates. I’m trying to turn it into something good despite all the work it takes to break all this stuff down. But who can ask for anything better than free. I have the time so it’s worth it. Most of the wood is 1×4 and 2×4’s of all lengths (mostly short). One large benifit is that all of these crates are bringing in large signs. Scott, the owner of the lot installs signs for Wal-Mart, Sam’s, Checker auto, etc. So I’m able to get large pieces of metal and plastic to use as well.


With fall comes colder weather, which this year will be welcomed with open arms. But the Pigs will probably prefer somewhere out of the snow and rain that’s inevitable in just a few months. So the lumber is being put to use as houses for the pigs. Since we have mostly Sows that are here for breeding piglets, each house needs to be large, comfy, and durable. I also have to install a door to access the baby piglets without worrying about mom getting at me. Right now the remaining piglets are inside a makeshift house made of straw. Works really well too, keeps them dry and cool during the summer.

The pig house I’ve decide to build mimics horse barns because it has something called a Gramble roof. That allows for a lot of room without being too tall, and it’s easy for me to build using the smaller pieces of wood that I have from the wooden crates.Gramble roof pig house

There is still a lot of work to do, but I hope to post the rest by the end of the weekend. After the weekend college will start again and I’ll be limited to working 2 or 3 hours in a particular day. But I know that the pigs only have 2 more months before the first snows might come, so I know I’ll be busy for a while.

Leave a Reply

